Skip to content

Welsh Premier League Trophy Champions

Red Dragon - Flag of Wales

Formerly known as League of Wales and Welsh Premier League, the Cymru Premier is the national football league of Wales and at the top tier of the Welsh football league system. If you’d like to get the latest news or read facts about the league, you have come to the right place. Visit our website for Welsh Premier League fixtures, results, championships, and live news.

Who Are The Welsh Premier League Champions?

The champions of the Welsh Premier League are the winners of the league for either the double or the treble. The double champions are the teams who won in the Welsh Premier League and the Welsh Cup. The champions for the treble are the ones who are able to win three trophies in the same league season.

The Welsh Premier League champion for seasons 2011 to 2019 is The New Saints F.C. Overall, the team has had 13 championship titles since the first season. However, the streak has been taken away by Connah’s Quay Nomads F.C. The team took home the trophy in seasons 2019 and 2020 in the Cymru Premier, having The New Saints as the runner-up.

Learn About The Welsh Football League System

The Welsh football league pyramid consists of four tiers and lower tier leagues. The four tiers are Cymru Premier (Tier 1), Cymru North and Cymru South (Tier 2), Ardal Leagues (Tier 3), and Area Leagues (Tier 4). From the series of leagues, whoever beats the home and away teams wins the Welsh Premier League trophy.